I found myself in a situation yesterday where I was stuck waiting for over two hours, and had to cancel plans. I felt frustrated, angry, and annoyed. Over the course of the two hours, my feelings and reactions changed and I tried my best to watch them–it wasn’t difficult to be patient at first–I was calm, but as more time pasted I got more agitated. I reached a point where I was so annoyed that I could no longer sit calmly and read, I tried to distract myself by breathing slowly and counting my breaths, but after 200, that didn’t work anymore either. I ended up pacing, trying to think only of my steps. Near the end, I searched my mind of something to pacify me–I wouldn’t be stuck here forever, it could be so much worse, what if I was in solidrary confindment for 20 years, what if I was trapped somewhere unsafe. My wasted afternoon and canceled plans were nothing in the grand scheme.

In the end all these tatics helped a little, and I think they severed me better than sceaming and crying (although sometimes that really feels good). Patience is a really difficult thing, and just like yoga, patience really is a pratice that needs to be exercised frequently, with only small incremental results. But the two really feed into each other–you need to pratice patience to pratice yoga and praticing yoga helps you pratice patience. Being patient with your body and where it is– if your hamstrings are tight and you can barely fold over your legs.

Patience is so hard, and probably the hardest thing about it is how long it takes.

