The biggest thing people take for granted is their health. For most of us, most of the time, our bodies just are. We can disconect and live in our heads. But as soon as something goes wrong all of your awareness is on your health and body, you can think of nothing else. It’s really the base of everything.

I hurt my toe pretty badly on Friday afternoon, and the same day my wisdom tooth started aching horribly. I try to be more aware of my body than the average person, but I had never given any thought to my toe or tooth, I took for granted that they are just there, doing their jobs, not giving me any trouble. Now it’s difficult to think of much else. It’s amazing how such small forgotten parts of your body can seem so all consuming when you are in pain. It makes appreciate your healthy working body even more.

