Yesterday I participated in the New York Century Bike Tour for the 5th year. My fiance Mark and our friend Joan joined me for the first time this year. It was a beautiful day;  perfect weather, great company, challenges, fun, and a big sense of accomplishment. Biking up monster hills while facing a strong wind, peddling with all your strength but barely moving felt like a metaphor. The soreness and utter exhaustion after nearly 60 miles and over 9 hours of biking, gave me a feeling that I wish I had at the end of every day–I’ve done everything I could do, I’ve accomplished something impressive, and I’ll sleep soundly.

Beyond the feelings of achievement, the sense of community and exploration however, came the very practical concerns: SORE muscles. I benefit from yoga everyday, but some days, like yesterday, I NEED yoga. I did a few down dogs and pigeons at some of the rest stops, and last night I led Mark in some more thigh, hamstring, and groin stretches (Uttanasana, Pigeon, reclined pigeon, baddha konasana, prasarita padottanasana, and a few more like those).

After yesterday though, and seeing people doing a few stretches at each stop, I’m really interested in putting together sequences for cyclists (before, at rest stops, and after a big ride, as well as in general for the areas that need work). I think it would make a great addition to bike tours. Stay tuned for that from me in the future!

In the meantime, here is some ideas from others on the topic:

