I’ve been superstitious many times in my life–we all have in someway: avoiding cracks in the sidewalk to spare your mom, being afraid of innocuous everyday items like ladders and black cats, making a wish when you blow out your birthday candles, knocking on wood, throwing a coin in a fountain or salt over your shoulder, crossing your fingers, saying “bless you” when someone sneezes. In some small way everyone suspends disbelief every once in a while to believe in luck and magic.

When things go wrong it’s easy to feel unlucky, or that the universe is against you,  it’s harder to remember to feel thankful and lucky for all that’s good in your life.

Thousands of couples are getting married today, believing that the repetition of the numbers in the date (which won’t occur again for 100 years) makes today an especially lucky day to get hitched. Are those unions more likely more last than marriages that take place tomorrow or next year? Of course not. Unless, maybe they believe that they’ll last longer.

Luck isn’t a concrete concept, you can’t prove luck, you can’t wish for it, you can’t buy it. Luck, is like faith, it’s a matter of belief. Believe you’re lucky or unlucky and you can find examples everywhere to prove you right.

“Luck is believing you’re lucky.”

— Tennessee Williams

I’m not sure where I stand on my personal belief on luck, I know that wishes and superstitions aren’t logical, I know in some ways I’m very fortunate and in others I’ve had quite a difficult time.  I agree with Bette Davis on this one:

“I’ve been lucky. I’ll be lucky again.”

Regardless on how much you subscribe to the belief that today is lucky because of the date, 11/11/11, Veteran’s Day, on the month of Thanksgiving, seems like as good a time as any to be grateful for all in your life that you are grateful for, and to believe that a little luck might be coming your way.

